top of page

Let's Talk About Sex & Personal Hygiene




I’d like to consider myself an extrovert who is well-spoken, good listener, positive, enterprising, hardworking, fun and also hard of hearing. Because I am hard of hearing, at a young age I learned to read lips. This skill has come in handy many times; throughout my youth, my girlfriends and I would “eavesdrop” on people and the conversations could sometimes be very scandalous! I tried my hardest not to intrude but, sometimes I couldn’t help myself.


One time in particular, I was on a flight and we were delayed for such an extended period of time they allowed us to wait for takeoff in the VIP room. In the room I was seated with several other doctors and speakers who would be attending the same event as me. Across the room I spotted two attractive men who couldn’t have been older than 30. The way they carried themselves made it clear, they were part of Spain’s high society. I couldn’t help myself, I was intrigued so I used my lip-reading super power. I focused my attention and what I heard captivated me immediately! They were discussing women, and how sexy they found mature women. While listening to them speak so honestly, I found myself wondering if I qualified as a mature woman. If not, what did I have to do to become one.


The conversation began to escalate, and they began exchanging stories. Though it was interesting, and exciting I knew I had to stop inserting myself in their conversation. I had to get my mind off of them and the best way I knew how was to call my mother. That put an end to all my curiosity quickly!


For days after I couldn’t stop thinking about what I had heard, and how interesting it was to me. I told my girlfriends and we started to tell each other stories. Sharing and hearing these stories from my girlfriends made me realize that it is normal to enjoy sex. I believe that the more sex we have, the more practice we put it, the better we feel and the more we enjoy it, and that is what sex is all about, enjoyment!


In my opinion, our sexual organ is our entire body, not just your genitals. I believe an essential element in a healthy sexual relationship with anyone or yourself is about learning to play with other things. Learning and understanding what you enjoy, what isn’t your cup of tea, and what you want to try is not only normal but should be encouraged! In my life I have tried to maintain healthy relationships erotically, and this involves appreciating yourself and your partner, knowing what all parties like and expect, and practicing as often as you can!

One of my tips for having great sex starts outside of the bedroom. You have to be confident in yourself, have high self-esteem, and be comfortable with yourself before you can be comfortable with anyone else. Also, to have good sex it is important to get enough rest and avoid drugs that inhibit sexual desires.


One important thing to keep in mind is that, good personal hygiene is not just about perfume and soap... it is the best way to protect yourself from contracting gastro-infectious diseases such as COVID-19, colds and flu. Washing your hands often with soap removes germs that can make you sick. Maintaining good personal hygiene will also help prevent you from spreading illness to others.



Before to wrap it up, I certainly would say that - to enjoy sex as a couple you must first explore and get to know yourself and how your body works, what you find erotic and what turns you on. Remember to share with your partner/s how they can help you in your sexual adventure. Finally, it doesn't really matter if you're with your spouse, partner, or just for one-night stand, be selfish! It's as much about you as it is about them, so make sure you focus on yourself in bed too!

bottom of page