top of page

Thank You To My Grandma!

Updated: Nov 6, 2018




For as long as I can remember the elderly have been interesting to me. When I was a little girl, I often chose spending time listening to my grandmother over playing with my friends. I loved being around her, and I hung on every word she spoke to me.


I think that we are living in a society that is quite superficial. A society that only wants to see the good and ignore the bad. As if, sweeping our issues, fears, and concerns under the rug makes them no longer exist. I often wonder, do people really believe that? Do they actually see their avoidance tantamount to a solution?


When I posed this question, and more like it, to my grandmother, she would always answer, “Whatever you project is what you will receive. If you plant a pear tree you cannot hope for apples to grow. First, because it is a pear tree, secondly, you would only be encouraging suffering and disappointment. It is better to be aware of reality, but sweetheart this is just the opinion of an old lady…”


I never thanked her for giving me advice or for answering my hundreds of questions and only now do I realize I should have. So, with all of you as my witnesses, I would like to say to my grandmother, “Thank you dear Granny, message received!”


Today I would like to set a goal for all of you. At some point when you have a minute to yourself, say: I can live well, and I will face life’s challenges with real solutions and hope!

bottom of page